Advances in Radioactive Isotope Science



Contribution ID: 149

Type: Invited Presentation

Evidence for Z=6 Subshell Cclosure in Neutron-rich Carbon Isotopes

Thursday, 1 June 2017 17:05 (15 minutes)

The nuclear magic numbers, as we know in stable nuclei, consist of two different series of numbers. The first series – 2, 8, 20 – is attributed to the harmonic oscillator potential, while the second one – 28, 50, 82, and 126 – is due to the spin-orbit interactions. The spin-orbit interactions are known to be significant and responsible for the large (spin-orbit) splitting of the single-particle states in heavy nuclei. These interactions, however, are expected to diminish in light nuclei due to the low orbital angular momenta. This general expectation is supported by the fact that there is an apparent lack of fingerprints for a magic number' (subshell closure) at 6 or 14 [1], which might have arisen from the widening 1p1/2-1p3/2 and 1d3/2-1d5/2 gaps, respectively, in the stable nuclei. A possible subshell closure at N=6 has been suggested both theoretically [2] and experimentally [3] in the very neutron-rich 8He isotope. For Z=6 and 14, possible subshell closures have been suggested [4] in the semi-magic 14C and 34Si.

In this talk, we will present experimental evidence for a prevalent subshell closure at proton number Z=6 in the neutron-rich carbon isotopes. We investigated (i) the point proton density distribution radii, combining our recent data for Be, B and C isotopes measured at RCNP, Osaka University and GSI, Darmstadt, with the available data from Ref. [5]; (ii) the atomic masses [6]; and (iii) the electromagnetic transition strengths [7] for a wide range of isotopes. Our systematic analysis revealed marked regularities which support a prominent protonmagic number' Z=6 in 13–20C.

References:

[1] M. G. Mayer, Nobel Lectures in Physics, 20 - 37 (1963).

[2] T. Otsuka et al., Phys. Rev. Lett. 87, 082502 (2001).

[3] F. Skaza et al., Phys. Rev. C 73, 044301 (2006).

[4] I. Angeli and K. P. Marinova, J. Phys. G: Nucl. Part. Phys. 42, 055108 (2015).

[5] I. Angeli and K. P. Marinova, At. Data Nucl. Data Tables 99, 69 - 95 (2013).

[6] M. Wang et al., Chinese Phys. C 36, 1603 - 2014 (2012).

[7] B. Pritychenko et al., At. Data Nucl. Data Tables 107, 1 - 139 (2016).

Primary authors: Mr TRAN, Dinh Trong (Research Center for Nuclear Physics, Osaka University); Dr ONG, Hooi Jin (RCNP, Osaka University)

Co-authors: Prof. OZAWA, Akira (Institute of Physics, University of Tsukuba); Ms INOUE, Azusa (RCNP, Osaka University); Prof. SCHEIDENBERGER, Christoph (GSI); Dr NISHIMURA, Daiki (Tokyo University of Science); Dr NAGAE, Daisuke (RIKEN Nishina Center); Prof. IDEGUCHI, Eiji (RCNP, Osaka University); Prof. GEISSEL, Hans (GSI); Prof. SAKAGUCHI, Harutaka (RCNP, Osaka University); Prof. TANIHATA, Isao (Beihang university and RCNP Osaka university); Dr TANAKA, Junki (Konan University); Prof. MATSUTA, Kensaku (Department of Physics, Osaka University); Prof. KHIEM, Le Hong (IOP, VAST); Dr TAKECHI, Maya (Niigata University); Prof. FUKUDA, Mitsunori (Department of Physics, Osaka University); Dr MIHARA, Mototsugu (Department of Physics, Osaka University); Prof. HARAKEH, Muhsin N. (KVI, University of Groningen); Dr NGUYEN, Ngoc Duy (Dong Nai University); Prof. AOI, Nori (RCNP, Osaka University); Ms REN, Pei Pei (IMP, CAS); Ms CHAN, Phaik Ying (RCNP, Osaka University); Prof. KANUNGO, Ritu (Saint Mary's University); Prof. WADA, Roy (IMP, CAS / TAMU); Prof.

MOMOTA, Sadao (Kochi University of Technology); Dr TERASHIMA, Satoru (Beihang University); Prof. OTSUKA, Takaharu (Department of Physics, University of Tokyo); Prof. KAWABATA, Takahiro (Department of Physics, Kyoto University); Dr HASHIMOTO, Takashi (Rare Isotope Science Project, Institute for Basic Sciences); Prof. SHIMA, Tatsushi (RCNP, Osaka University); Mr YAMAMOTO, Tetsuya (RCNP, Osaka University); Ms HOANG, Thi Ha (RCNP, Osaka University); Prof. SUZUKI, Toshio (Nihon University); Mr NGUYEN, Tran Tho (Pham Ngoc Thach University of Medicine); Dr LIN, Wei Ping (IMP, CAS); Dr AYYAD, Yassid (Research Center for Nuclear Physics); Prof. KANADA-EN'YO, Yoshiko (Department of Physics, Kyoto University)

Presenter: Dr ONG, Hooi Jin (RCNP, Osaka University)

Session Classification: Breakout 2