

Closing Remarks

Dmitri Denisov, Organizing Committee Chair



2017 DPF Meeting Activities Still to Come

• Tours of Fermilab's unique facilities

 Busses will be waiting for those who signed for tours at 12:50pm in front of the Wilson Hall. Return back to the Wilson Hall not later than 3:30pm

DPF Meeting Proceedings

- Based on arXiv submissions
- All speakers/posters presenters are eligible to contribute (for all voluntary)
- Instructions/templates are on the meeting Web site
- Deadline is October 1st 2017
- Mike Eads, meads@niu.edu, is coordinating the proceedings



Congratulations!

- To 2016 APS Fellows from DPF
 - Argyres, Philip; Bloom, Ken; Csáki, Csaba; Davies, Christine;
 Dominguez, Aaron; Fox, Patrick; Hill, Christopher; Karch, Andreas; Lang,
 Karol; Oser, Scott M.; Roney, J. Michael; Savard, Pierre; Shanahan, Peter N.;
 Somalwar, Sunil V.; Whiteson, Daniel; Willocq, Stéphane; Zurek, Kathryn
- To DPF Awards recipients
 - Instrumentation Award: Blair Ratcliff and Lawrence Sulak
 - Mentoring award: Thomas Devlin
 - Tanaka Thesis Award: Benjamin Jones
 - Sakurai Thesis Award: Ian Moult



We would like to thank deeply

- The DPF executive committee
 - For support of our offer to host 2017 DPF meeting
 - For funding for the student's registration fee
 - For support for the meeting activities
- Fermilab and Fermi Research Alliance
 - For excellent support during preparations of the meeting and during the meeting
 - For providing funds for the meeting reception on Monday
- Representatives of DOE and NSF who actively participated in the meeting activities
- Our colleagues from Europe and CERN, Asia, and Americas
 - For coming and sharing their results and plans
- Scientists from various APS divisions who participated actively in the meeting



This meeting would not be possible without excellent Organizing Committee

- Steve Brice, Fermilab
- Joel Butler, Fermilab
- Myron Campbell, University of Michigan
- Dmitri Denisov (Chair), Fermilab
- Michael Eads, Northern Illinois University
- Brenna Flaugher, Fermilab
- Stuart Henderson, Jefferson Lab
- Andy Lankford, University of California Irvine
- David Lissauer, Brookhaven National Laboratory
- Patty McBride, Fermilab
- Mark Messier, Indiana University
- Michael Peskin, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory
- Harrison Prosper, Florida State University
- Kate Scholberg, Duke University
- Abe Seiden, University of California Santa Cruz
- Marcelle Soares-Santos, Fermilab
- Peter Sorensen, Lawrence Berkley National Laboratory
- Mark Thomson, Cavendish Laboratory
- Mike Tuts, Columbia University
- Doreen Wackeroth, SUNY Buffalo



Parallel sessions were developed by 15 Working Groups

- Cosmology and Astrophysics
 - Brad Benson, Shirley Ho, Masao Sako, Neelima Sehgal
- Dark Matter
 - Jodi Cooley, Enectali Figueroa-Feliciano, Rafael Lang
- Accelerators
 - Mark Palmer, Mike Syphers, Vitaly Yakimenko
- Cold and Hot QCD Matter
 - Dave Morrison, Thomas Ullrich, Jianwei Qiu
- Neutrino Physics
 - Chris Grant, Patrick Huber, Georgia Karagiorgi, Lisa Whitehead
- Precision Electroweak Physics
 - Jeffrey Berryhill, Richard Hill, Marc-Andre Pleier
- Higgs and EWSB
 - Tulika Bose, Laura Reina, Junjie Zhu

- Quark and Lepton Flavor
 - Marina Artuso, Hal Evans, Alexey Petrov
- Beyond Standard Model
 - Patrick Fox, Yuri Gershtein, George Redlinger
- Particle Detectors
 - Artur Apresyan, Michael Begel, Jelena Maricic
- Computing, Analysis Tools, and Data Handling
 - Kaushik De, Salman Habib, Andrew Norman
- QCD
 - Radja Boughezal, Chris Lee, Frank Petriello
- Top Quark Physics
 - Stefan Hoeche, Reinhard Schwienhorst, Stephen Wimpenny
- Field and String Theory
 - David Kutasov, Hong Liu, Rachel Rosen
- Diversity, Education, and Outreach
 - Sowjanya Gollapinni, Brian Nord, Kevin Pitts, Greg Snow

Our deepest thanks to

- Plenary sessions speakers who presented excellent review talks
 - And plenary sessions chairs who managed to keep the sessions on schedule
- Parallel session speakers who discussed their theoretical and experimental results
 - And parallel sessions chairs who handled multiple duties including talks uploads and establishing remote connections
- Posters presented who shared their research with us from Monday to Thursday



We would not be able to ask questions without microphones during plenary sessions – thanks to

- Basil Schneider
- Karie Badgley
- Alessandra Luca
- Tammy Walton
- Kevin Pedro
- Manolis Kargiantoulakis
- R. Kreswell Neely
- Basil Schneider
- Maral Alyari
- Aaron Bercellie
- Gonzalo Diaz



Thanks to Fermilab facilities tours (yet to come...) guides

- "Superconducting RF and high field magnets facilities"
 - Mike Tartaglia, Stoyan Stoynev, Sam Posen
- "Superconducting RF cryomodules test facility and accelerators test facility (IOTA/FAST)"
 - Elvin Harms, Camille Ginsberg, Vladimir Shiltsev, Dan Broemmelsiek, Chip Edstrom
- "Fermilab test beam and liquid argon detectors R&D facilities"
 - Mandy Rominsky, Jason St. John, Alan Hahn, Brian Rebel
- "Silicon detectors development and construction facility"
 - Maral Alyari, Juan Estrada, and many others
- "g-2 experiment and neutrino experiments area"
 - Angela Fava, Simone Marcocci, Wes Ketchum, Joseph Zennamo Brendan Kiburg, Brendan Casey



Deepest thanks to Fermilab staff

- For all help with the meeting organization
- To our visual media support team
 - Reidar Hahn
 - Allan Johnson
- And special thanks to
 - Joy Pomillo
 - Melody Saperston
 - Meredith Ament
 - Barbara Kristen



This meeting success would not be possible without 700 participants coming, presenting 40 plenary, 400 parallel talks and 100 posters and actively participating in all meeting activities!

Thank you for coming and have a safe trip back home!





