DUNE Collaboration Governance

Article 6 Executive Committee (EC) 16 February 2018

§ 6.1 Role of the Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is responsible for setting scientific and technical objectives and priorities of the DUNE collaboration taking account of the financial aspects as well as other resources. The EC establishes procedures for making technical choices, and will oversee progress and developments in various projects. The EC will also advise the Co-Spokespersons on all major collaboration matters.

§ 6.2 Membership of the Executive Committee

The EC will consist of four at-large elected members, two appointed members by the CoSpokespersons and the following five ex-officio members: the Co-Spokespersons, the Technical Coordinator, the Resource Coordinator and the IB Chair. If the Deputy Spokesperson is appointed by the Co-Spokespersons with an IB confirmation, s/he will be additional ex-officio member of the EC. The longest serving of the Co-Spokespersons serves as the EC Chair.

§ 6.3 Election, Appointment and Terms

There will be two at-large members elected each year in April by the IB. The election process will start with nominations by the IB, each nominating up to two names. The nominees with three or more nominations can stand for the election. The election will be held using a simple secret voting system with each IB voting for two names. The top two vote getters from a single round of vote will be elected. This procedure does not include a vote from the IB Chair unless such a vote 7 is necessary to break a tie. Immediately after the at-large member election, the Co-Spokespersons will start the process of appointing two EC members by nominating two names to the IB. After a brief presentation of the nominees to the IB by the Co-Spokespersons, the IB will confirm or reject the nomination with a secret vote. The terms of the elected members are two years and appointed members are one year