Please read these instructions before posting any event on Fermilab Indico

Indico search will be reestablished in the next version upgrade of the software:


This search is only for public events. Restricted events are not available.

INDICO will be UPGRADED to version 3.0.3 on
NEW DATE: Saturday January 29th starting at 9 a.m. Central Time.
Please email ASAP for any conflicts.

June 22, 2020 to July 2, 2020
US/Central timezone

The Blazar Hadronic Code Comparison Project

Not scheduled


Matteo Cerruti (Institut de Ciencies del Cosmos - Universitat de Barcelona (ICCUB))


Blazar hadronic models have been developed in the past decades as an alternative to leptonic ones. In hadronic models the gamma-ray emission is associated with synchrotron emission by protons, and/or secondary leptons produced in proton-photon interactions. Together with photons, hadronic emission models predict the emission of neutrinos that are therefore the smoking gun for acceleration of relativistic hadrons in blazar jets. The simulation of proton-photon interactions and all associated radiative processes is a complex numerical task, and different approaches to the problem have been adopted in the literature. So far, no systematic comparison between the different codes has been performed, preventing a clear understanding of the underlying uncertainties in the numerical simulations. To fill this gap, we have undertaken the first comprehensive comparison of blazar hadronic codes, and the first results from this effort will be presented in this contribution.


We show the results from the first comprehensive comparison of blazar hadronic codes

Primary author

Matteo Cerruti (Institut de Ciencies del Cosmos - Universitat de Barcelona (ICCUB))


Michael Kreter (North-West University, South Africa) Maria Petropoulou (Princeton) Annika Rudolph (DESY) Foteini Oikonomou (ESO) Markus Böttcher (North-West University, South Africa) Stavros Dimitrakoudis (University of Alberta) Anton Dmytriiev (Observatoire de Paris) Shan Gao (DESY) Susumu Inoue (RIKEN) Apostolos Mastichiadis (University of Athens) Dr Kohta Murase (Penn State University) Anita Reimer (University of Innsbruck) Xavier Rodrigues (DESY) Walter Winter (DESY) Andreas Zech (Observatoire de Paris)

Presentation Materials