LArSoft Multi-threading and Acceleration Workshop

Erica Snider

Note--video recordings of sessions are available at this website.

This hybrid-format workshop hosted by Fermilab and LArSoft gathered software experts across liquid argon time project chamber (LArTPC) neutrino experiments and related applications to discuss the use of multi-threading and acceleration in LArTPC reconstruction and simulation software as solutions to problems of resource utilization and throughput.

The goals of the workshop were:

  • to learn the multi-threading and acceleration capabilities of frameworks and common toolkits used by LArTPC experiments;

  • to share experiences across experiments about existing resource utilization and throughput problems that lend themselves to multi-threaded or acceleration solutions;

  • to explore how multi-threading and acceleration is being used to address these problems and open avenues to the use HPC resources more broadly;

  • to discuss the results of applying these techniques and capabilities

so that we can learn from each other, advance our common code bases in a coherent and efficient manner, and help direct future development.

The program included presentations by application experts from the various experiments;  Pandora and WireCell developers;  Geant4 developers on GPU acceleration in Geant4; as well as art and CMSSW framework developers. There was approximately one day of presentation time spread across two mornings, with the afternoon of March 2 available for active problem-solving for those who were interested.

Anyone with an interest in presenting at the workshop should contact [email protected] and [email protected]

Those who plan to attend in person, but do not have a current Fermilab ID badge should register as early as possible in order to ensure site access approvals are in place upon arrival.


  • Alejandro Castillo
  • Amit Bashyal
  • Andrew McNab
  • Andrew Mogan
  • Andrew Norman
  • Barnali Chowdhury
  • Brett Viren
  • David Adams
  • Diego Gamez
  • Erica Snider
  • Giuseppe Cerati
  • Haiwang Yu
  • Hans-Joachim Wenzel
  • Heidi Schellman
  • Herbert Greenlee
  • Jacob Calcutt
  • Jaydip Singh
  • John Marshall
  • Krzysztof Genser
  • Marc Paterno
  • Matt Kramer
  • Matti Kortelainen
  • Meghna Bhattacharya
  • Michael H L Wang
  • Michael Kirby
  • Munerah Alrashed
  • Noah Vaughan
  • Philippe Canal
  • Ray Culbertson
  • Rhiannon Jones
  • Robert Hatcher
  • Ryan Cross
  • Saba Sehrish
  • Soon Yung Jun
  • Sophie Berkman
  • Sridhar Tripathy
  • Tammy Walton
  • Thomas Junk
  • Tingjun Yang
  • Wenqiang Gu
  • Wesley Ketchum
  • William Seligman
  • Yoann Kermaidic