The OSG David Swanson Award

Tim Cartwright

OSG School Director

Center for High Throughput Computing and PATh Project

University of Wisconsin-Madison





Origin of the Award

- The OSG David Swanson Award honors our late colleague, David Swanson
- David was the Director of the Holland Computing Center at UNL (among many other roles!)
- He served on the OSG Council and was elected Chair in 2016
- David passed away in a car crash in fall 2019
- First awardees announced at the (virtual) OSG All-Hands Meeting in fall 2020







Who is Eligible?

Anyone who:

- Attended the OSG School
- Is still a research trainee (e.g., graduate student or post-doc) (this typically limits eligibility to a few years after the School they attended)
- Has used HTC to enable research outcomes and professional activities
- Is available to attend and present at the Throughput Computing meeting





How Do We Pick Someone?

- Committee: Christina Koch (Chair), Ken Bloom, Frank, Tim C.
- Request nominations in spring; self-nominations are strongly encouraged
- Review criteria:
 - HTC has enabled significant outcomes in their research NOT hours!
 Rather, has it made research possible, better than hoped, etc.
 - HTC has resulted in posters, talks, or publications (often no pubs. yet)
 - Student has mentored others, taught, or otherwise tried to help colleagues who might also benefit from HTC
- Keep an eye on older students who will "age out" soon
- Committee selects one or two awardees each year





Past Awardees I

2020

- Anirvan Shukla · University of Hawai'i at Mānoa (Physics, OSGUS16)
 "Antimatter: Using high throughput computing to study very rare processes"
- **Zhonggang (John) Li** · UW-Madison (Nutritional Sciences, OSGUS19) "Data mining in genomics by high-throughput computing"

2021

Nicholas Cooley · University of Pittsburgh (Biomed. Informatics, OSGUS18)
 "Computational biology on OSG"





Past Awardees II

2022

• Connor Natzke · Colorado School of Mines (Physics, OSGUS19) "Investigating the strong nuclear force with the OSG"

2023

- Aashish Tripathee · University of Michigan (Physics, OSGVSP20) "Leveraging [HTC] to search for continuous gravitational waves"
- Jimena Gonzalez · UW-Madison (Physics, OSGVS21) "Searching for gravitational lenses in the Dark Energy Survey"





Today's Awardee

2024

• Cort Posnansky · Pennsylvania State University (Physics, OSGS23) "Finding compact binary mergers with GstLAL"





Questions?

This material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant Nos. 2030508. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.



