Charge to Committee on the Appointment of Scientists

Pier Oddone, June 10th, 2013

The Committee on the Appointment of Scientists will review the current Fermilab policies on

appointments to scientific positions and will recommend updates to them as necessary to:

1) Attract the best scientists to Fermilab (the peer institutions are national laboratories and

research universities);

2) Require clear procedures for appointment and promotions that are fair and transparent, and

employ best practices used at peer institutions when applicable to Fermilab's mission;

3) Establish policies that are workable, efficient and maintain optimal quality in Fermilab's

programs in both good and poor funding situations, including funding crises.

As in our current policies, the updated policies will cover the initial appointment to scientific positions, promotion from one rank to another, and terminations. The Committee will consult broadly in carrying

out its charge and will outline clearly where it recommends that policies be updated from current

The Committee will deliver its recommendations to the Laboratory Director.

recommendations will be discussed further with the scientific staff, and the results transmitted by the

Director to the Fermi Research Alliance Board of Directors for consideration.

Committee membership:

Stephen Parke (Fermilab)

Sergei Nagaitsev (Fermilab)

Lothar Bauerdick (Fermilab)

Sam Zeller (Fermilab)

Russell Betts (FRA Board of Directors and IIT)

Drew Baden (FRA Board of Directors and University of Maryland)

Ex officio:

External Legal Counsel: Mr.Tom Piskorski, Esq.

ALD for the Particle Physics Sector: Greg Bock

Chair of Fermilab Committee on Scientific Appointments (FCSA): Ray Cultberson

Head of Workforce Development and Resources Section: Kay Van Vreede

Secretary:

Roy Rubinstein