Please read these instructions before posting any event on Fermilab Indico

Indico will be down for maintenance on Wednesday, July 17th from 7-7:30 am.

May 18 – 20, 2015
National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory
US/Michigan timezone
Registration deadline Sunday, 9 May!

Photogrammetry measurements of the SpiRIT TPC

May 20, 2015, 11:25 AM
Lecture Hall (National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory)

Lecture Hall

National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory

640 South Shaw Lane East Lansing, MI 48824
Oral Presentation Physics and Experiments Session 10


Mr Jonathan Barney (NSCL)


The SAMURAI Pion‐Reconstruction and Ion‐Tracker (SpiRIT), a Time Projection Chamber (TPC), is designed for measurements of the density dependence of the nuclear symmetry energy around twice the saturation density. This TPC will be used inside the large SAMURAI dipole magnet in the Rare Isotope Beam Facility (RIBF) in RIKEN Wako, Japan. To understand the relative locations of the TPC drift volume, with respect to the enclosure of the TPC, the dipole, and other auxiliary detectors, we use a calibrated camera system from Geodetic in which multiple photographs can be reconstructed into a 3-dimenstional coordinate system to make 3D measurements of the SpiRIT TPC. This measurement technique known as photogrammetry is accurate to <100 micrometers and commonly used in SAMURAI experiments [2]. In this talk, I will describe the precise measurements and the uncertainties in mapping various TPC components in the magnet chamber using the photogrammetry technique. This material is based on work supported by the DOE under Grant No. DE-SC0004835, NSF under Grant No. PHY-1102511 and the Japanese MEXT Grant-in-Aid for Scientific Research on Innovative Area Grant No. 24105004 [1] R. Shane et al., Nucl. Instrum. and Meth. A (accept for publication) [2] H.Otsu, et. al., RIKEN accelerator progress report vol. 46 (2013) 149.

Primary author

Dr Alan McInstosh (2Cyclotron Institute, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX 77843, USA)


Hideaki Otsu (RIKEN Nishina Center) Mr Jonathan Barney (NSCL) Justin Estee (NSCL) Dr Mizuki Kurata-Nishimura (RIKEN Nishina Center) Dr Rebecca Shane (NSCL and Department of Physics and Astronomy, Michigan State University) Prof. Sherry Yennello (Cyclotron Institute, Texas A&M University, College Station) Tadaaki Isobe (RIKEN) Prof. Tetsuya Murakami (Department of Physics, Kyoto University, Kita-shirakawa, Kyoto) Prof. William G. Lynch (NSCL and Department of Physics and Astronomy, Michigan State University)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.