Please read these instructions before posting any event on Fermilab Indico

Indico will be unavailable due to server patching on Wed , June 19th, 7 a.m. to 7:30 a.m. Central Time

CMS open data workshop at the LPC

Fermilab Wilson Hall

Fermilab Wilson Hall

Julie Hogan (Bethel University), Matthew Bellis (Cornell University/Siena College (US))

Since 2014, the CMS Collaboration has pioneered the release of LHC research quality data for public use by making a significant amount of these data accessible through the CERN Open Data portal. At the end of 2021, the CMS Collaboration released the first batch of its Run 2 data. This workshop is a fourth of a series that started in 2020 and it aims to bridge the technical gap that usually exists between the scientific creativity of an external analyst and the nuts-and-bolts details of a full analysis with CMS open data. All exercises will be hands-on and participants should be prepared to dive into the data right away. A set of pre-exercises and assignments are provided and required for participants so that they can make the most of the workshop. Time will also be spent brainstorming with attendees about how the entire process of accessing and analyzing the data could be made more useful for the broader HEP community.

Please note that the deadline for registration for in-person participants is Monday June 12, 2023, and the registration will automatically initiate business visitor access requests for participants who are not Fermilab users/affiliates or employees. Make sure you monitor the email address associated with your registration for time-sensitive instructions.

Pre-exercises are now available! Visit the workshop tutorial site to complete the pre-exercises. This will ensure you have the software environment and background knowledge necessary to participate in the hands-on activities.

For in-person participants, a $50 registration fee will cover the coffee breaks. Information about access to the Fermilab site and lodging near Fermilab can be found in the menu. 

Zoom link: Attached below under "Materials". It is accessible to registered attendees only. 

Organizing Committee:

Matt Bellis (Siena College)
Edgar Carrera Jarrin (San Francisco de Quito U.)
Julie Hogan (Bethel University)
Clemens Lange (Paul Scherrer Institute)
Kati Lassila-Perini (Helsinki Institute of Physics)
Thomas McCauley (University of Notre Dame)
Sezen Sekmen (Kyungpook National University)

Local Organizing Committee:

Raghav Kansal (UC San Diego)
Michael Krohn (University of Minnesota)

LPC Events Committee:

Gabriele Benelli (Brown University, Co-Chair)
Irene Zoi (Fermilab)

LPC Coordinators:

Kevin Black (UW Madison)
Bo Jayatilaka (Fermilab)

  • Aadarsh Singh
  • Abiya Jose
  • Ahmed Abdulfattah
  • Alexander Moreno Briceño
  • Alexis Miranda
  • Allan Eduardo Flores Godoi Ferreira
  • Aman Kumar
  • Anas Saleh
  • Annika Stein
  • Antonio Cota
  • Balasubramaniam K M
  • Bo Jayatilaka
  • Brian Shuve
  • Camila Ramos
  • Carlos Ayala
  • Chang-Seong MOON
  • Chris Culver
  • Chrysovalantis Constantinou
  • Clemencia Mora Herrera
  • Clemens Lange
  • Cristian Arciniegas Ayala
  • Deeptanshu Giri
  • Demircan Demirbağ
  • Dhashin Krishna Murali
  • Diana Martinez
  • Dilara Bük
  • Dimitri Bourilkov
  • Diogo Buarque Franzosi
  • Easton Poniewaz
  • Edgar Carrera
  • El Abassi Abderrazaq
  • Elizabeth Sexton-Kennedy
  • Enzo Morina
  • Esha Lokhande
  • Eslam Shokr
  • Fatima Rodriguez
  • Flip Tanedo
  • Gabriele Benelli
  • Gaurav Kumar
  • Guilherme Alves
  • Gustavo Valdivia Mera
  • Harish Aravindh S
  • Harsh Tekawade
  • Harshit Singhal
  • Hermes León Vargas
  • hridhay alat
  • Humberto Reyes-González
  • Jaismee ..
  • Jhonattan Barriga
  • Jill Ziegler
  • John Carter
  • John Lawless
  • Jorge Valenzuela Garcia
  • Jose Rodriguez
  • Julia Ceddia
  • Julie Hogan
  • Kenneth Cecire
  • Keping Xie
  • Keshav Keshav
  • Konstantin Matchev
  • Krishna Bulchandani
  • Kun Cheng
  • Leonardo Ospedal
  • Mandeep Mandeep
  • Marco Aguirre
  • Marcos Sales
  • Marguerite Tonjes
  • Mark Ruel Chua
  • Mason Fletcher
  • Matthew Bellis
  • Mohamed Abdulazeem
  • Mohamed Gamal
  • mohammad sbetani
  • Muhammad Talal
  • Murad Saad
  • Nakul Aggarwal
  • Nandita B
  • Nick Smith
  • Niharika Verma
  • Noor Wael
  • Omar Medina Bautista
  • Omondi Vincent
  • Patricia Rebello Teles
  • Patrick Mooney
  • Radha Mastandrea
  • Raghad Badawi
  • Raj Handique
  • Ranzivelle Marianne Roxas-Villanueva
  • Rasha Rawadieh
  • Rikab Gambhir
  • Roy Forestano
  • Rupul Chandna
  • Sana Tabaza
  • Sanjana Sekhar
  • Sara Abdelrazeq
  • Sara Abdo
  • Sezen Sekmen
  • Sunidhi Saxena
  • Syed Faheem Andrabi
  • Tanmay Verma
  • Thejus Chandran
  • Thiago Rangel
  • Thomas McCauley
  • Tuqa Omari
  • Vedha Varshini B
  • Victor Gonzalez
  • Vikas Mistry
  • Waleed Esmail
  • Walter Cargua
  • Wilson David Buitrago Ceballos
  • Xavier Tintin
  • Xiaohe Shen
  • Yoxara ​Sánchez Villamizar
  • Zachary Hochstetler
  • Zhite Yu