Nov 13 – 17, 2017
Monash University, Melbourne, Australia
Australia/Melbourne timezone


We would like to invite you to participate in the Celebration of CEMP & Gala of GALAH workshop to be held on November 13-17, 2017, at the Monash University, Melbourne, Australia.

The meeting will consider two broad themes:
Our present understanding of the Carbon-Enhanced Metal-Poor (CEMP) stars in the halo of the Milky Way, and their constraints on nucleosynthesis by the first generations of stars, on the 25th anniversary of their discovery, as well as the 60th orbit around the Sun for co-discoverer Timothy Beers.

And secondly, the first science results based on DR1 from the GALAH survey -- one of the first generation of massive high-resolution optical surveys of stars in the Milky Way, now underway at the AAT.

The meeting will bring together observers and theoreticians with interest that align with the study of CEMP stars and/or GALAH results -- we particularly encourage young researchers who might be interested in participating in present and future studies of these areas. The meeting includes a mixture of plenary talks, contributed talks, and poster summary talks, as well as a series of "unconference" sessions. These breakout sessions will give participants the chance to establish and populate discussions that are of particular interest to those in attendance. This format has proven useful in a number of recent meetings.

Scientific Advisory Committee:

Luo Ali (NAOC, China)
Wako Aoki (NAOJ, Japan)
Cristina Chiappini (Leibniz Institute AIP, Potsdam, Germany)
Norbert Christlieb (Univ. of Heidelberg, Germany)
Anna Frebel (MIT, USA)
Kenneth Freeman (Australian Natl. Univ., Australia)
Aruna Goswami (IIA, Bangalore, India)
Young Sun Lee (Chungnam National Univ., Korea)
Avi Loeb (Harvard Univ., USA)
Sara Lucatello (INAF, Padova , Italy)
Maria Lugaro (Hungarian Academy of Science, Budapest, Hungary)

Sarah Martell (Univ. of New South Wales, Australia)
Georges Meynet (Univ. of Geneva, Switzerland)
John Norris (Australian National Univ., Australia)
Max Pettini (Univ. of Cambridge, UK)
Silvia Rossi (Univ. of Sao Paolo, Brazil)

Hendrik Schatz (Michigan State Univ., USA)
Richard Stancliffe (Univ. of Bonn, Germany)
Nozumo Tominaga (Konan Univ., Japan)
Kim Venn (Univ. of Victoria, Canada)

Organizing Committee:

Timothy Beers, Chair (Univ. of Notre Dame, USA)
Amanda Karakas, Chair (Monash Univ., Australia)

John Lattanzio (Monash Univ., Australia)
Janet Weikel (Univ. of Notre Dame, USA)


This workshop is sponsored by the Joint Institute for Nuclear Astrophysics - Center for the Evolution of the Elements (JINA-CEE) and the Monash University School of Physics & Astronomy