First Workshop of the Muon g-2 Theory Initiative

D L1 69 (The L1 denotes that the meeting room is on the Lower Level 1 floor) (Q Center)

D L1 69 (The L1 denotes that the meeting room is on the Lower Level 1 floor)

Q Center

Aida El-Khadra (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign), Bradley Lee Roberts (Boston University), Christoph Lehner (BNL), Ruth Van de Water (Fermilab), Taku Izubuchi (Brookhaven National Laboratory)

In the coming years, experiments at Fermilab and at J-PARC plan to reduce the uncertainties on the already very precisely measured anomalous magnetic moment of the muon by a factor of four. The goal is to resolve the current tantalizing tension between theory and experiment of three to four standard deviations.  On the theory side the hadronic corrections to the anomalous magnetic moment are the dominant sources of uncertainty. They must be determined with better precision in order to unambiguously discover whether or not new physics effects contribute to this quantity.

There are a number of complementary theoretical efforts underway to better understand and quantify the hadronic corrections, including dispersive methods, lattice QCD, effective field theories, and QCD models. We have formed a new theory initiative to facilitate interactions between the different groups through organizing a series of workshops. The goal of this first workshop is to bring together theorists from the different communities to discuss, assess, and compare the status of the various efforts, and to map out strategies for obtaining the best theoretical predictions for these hadronic corrections in advance of the experimental results.

All sessions in this workshop will be plenary, featuring a mix of talks and discussions.

  • Aaron Meyer
  • Aarti Veernala
  • Aida El-Khadra
  • Alex Keshavarzi
  • Andreas Kronfeld
  • Andreas Nyffeler
  • Andrzej Kupsc
  • Antoine Gerardin
  • Antonin Portelli
  • B. Lee Roberts
  • Bastian Kubis
  • Bogdan Dobrescu
  • Bogdan Malaescu
  • Chris Polly
  • Christine Davies
  • Christoph Florian Redmer
  • Christoph Lehner
  • Ciaran Hughes
  • David Hertzog
  • Davide Giusti
  • Dongwi Handiipondola Dongwi
  • Eduardo de Rafael
  • Eigo Shintani
  • Erik Gustafson
  • Gilberto Colangelo
  • Graziano Venanzoni
  • Hartmut Wittig
  • Harvey B. Meyer
  • Henry Lamm
  • Henryk Czyz
  • James Miller
  • james simone
  • Johan Bijnens
  • Kim Maltman
  • Krstic Marinkovic Marina
  • Laurent Lellouch
  • Luchang Jin
  • Maarten Golterman
  • Marcela Carena
  • Marcus Petschlies
  • Martin Hoferichter
  • Massimiliano Procura
  • Mattia Bruno
  • Michel Davier
  • Nandita Raha
  • Norman Christ
  • Pablo Sanchez Puertas
  • Paul Mackenzie
  • Peter Stoffer
  • Peter Winter
  • Richard Kriske
  • Roig Pablo
  • Ruth Van de Water
  • Santiago Peris
  • Shoji Hashimoto
  • Simon Eidelman
  • Stefan E. Mueller
  • Steven Gottlieb
  • Taku Izubuchi
  • Tammy Walton
  • Thomas Blum
  • Thomas Teubner
  • Tsutomu Mibe
  • Vladimir Pascalutsa
  • Wes Gohn
  • Zechariah Gelzer